Classics Club: A Christmas Carol

Yay for me! Another Classics Club book off of the list! For those who aren’t familiar The Classics Club is a challenge to pick classics (at least 50) and read them all over the next 5 years. For those who read my initial list you know it’s more of a “books I always wanted to read or re-read.” Most of my list is re-reads of books I either loved as a kid or want to re-vist, books I was supposed to read, and books that I love the author and want to experience more of their work. The plan is to have my list of 50 all read by December 28, 2020.

5326

 

A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens

Fiction – Classics

 

 

 

So I’m just going to assume no one has read A Christmas Carol, seen a Christmas Carol, seen a Muppets Christmas Carol, or seen Scrooged when giving my description. Ebenezer Scrooge is grumpy, and miserly, and not without hope. He gets his second chance when on Christmas Eve he is confronted by three ghosts (Ghost of Christmas Past, Present, and Future) and shown what his live was, is, and will be if he stays on his grumpy path. He redeems himself by the end because Christmas and Tiny Tim realizes God blesses everyone, even the old man who basically fired his dad pre-Christmas. It’s one long Christmas themed episode of “This Is Your Life,” and I will forever love every minute of it.

This is one of those books i’ve read every Christmas since 8th grade (when we had to read it for school) and it just became something my family kept up with. We would drive home from my grandparents house back to my parents house (2ish hour drive), and in that time my mom would just read this out loud for something other than Christmas music. This story is Christmas as far as I’m concerned. It is festive and a great reminder that the people around you are what make Christmas memorable for so many.

 

Quotes

“It is a fair, even-handed, noble adjustment of things, that while there is infection in disease and sorrow, there is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good humour.”

 

“For it is good to be children sometimes, and never better than at Christmas, when its mighty Founder was a child Himself.”
“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach!”

Leave a comment