Classics Club

So I’ve decided I need to read more classics. When I was in school there were so many books that people would mention or I was supposed to read and never did and I always kinda wanted to eventually one day.

I stumbled across The Classics Club and it looked great. For one, I have a hard time sticking to things. I could tell myself I want to read 10 classics next year and read them all in one month because I’ll be in a mood for them, or I won’t read them for three years and it will feel like a chore. The Classics Club says to pick books (at least 50) that you want to read over the next 5 years. If anything this isn’t really a challenge, more of here’s a list of books “I picked out for myself that I’ve always wanted to read or reread and if I don’t write them down I will forget.” Speaking on that. A lot of these are re-reads from books I loved as a kid and want to re-visit, books I was supposed to read at some point, and books that I love the author and want to experience more of their work and never got around to it.

I don’t really envision this taking me 5 years. A lot of these books are very short, or they’re poems, or children’s books. I have a few toughies on here but nothing overwhelming. The plan is to have them all done by December 28, 2020.


So here’s my list. I’ll link them to the brief review I’ll write when I finish it ☺

  1. Al-Shaykh, Hanan – One Thousand and One Nights
  2. Albee, Edward – Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
  3. Alcott, Louisa May – Little Women
  4. Andersen, Hans Christian – The Little Mermaid
  5. Atwood, Margaret – A Handmaid’s Tale
  6. Baum, L. Frank – The Wonderful Wizard of Oz
  7. Beaumont, Charles – Perchance to Dream: Selected Stories
  8. Bradbury, Ray – Fahrenheit 451
  9. Bradbury, Ray – Something Wicked This Way Comes
  10. Burnett, Frances Hodgson – The Secret Garden
  11. Capote, Truman – In Cold Blood
  12. Christie, Agatha – The Body in the Library
  13. Coleridge, Samuel Taylor – Rime of the Ancient Mariner
  14. Danielwski, Mark Z. – House of Leaves
  15. Dickens, Charles – A Christmas Carol
  16. Du Maurier, Daphne – Rebecca
  17. Dumas, Alexandre – The Count of Monte Cristo
  18. Eliot, George – Silas Marner
  19. Faulkner, William – As I Lay Dying
  20. Fitzgerald, F Scott – Tender is the Night
  21. Ginsberg, Allen – Howl and Other Poems
  22. Grahame, Kenneth – The Wind in the Willows
  23. Heller, Joseph – Catch-22
  24. Hemingway, Ernest – A Farewell to Arms
  25. Hemingway, Ernest – A Moveable Feast
  26. Huxley, Aldous – A Brave New World
  27. Irving, Washington – The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
  28. Jackson, Shirley – The Haunting of Hill House
  29. Kerouac, Jack – On the Road
  30. Kesey, Ken – One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  31. Kipling, Rudyard – The Jungle Book
  32. Marquez, Gabriel Garcia – Love in the Time of Cholera
  33. Morrison, Toni – The Bluest Eye
  34. Nabokov, Vladimir – Lolita
  35. O’Connor, Flannery – A Good Man is Hard to Find
  36. Plath, Sylvia – The Bell Jar
  37. Poe, Edgar Allen – The Tell-Tale Heart and Other Writings
  38. Saint-Exupéry, Antoine de – Le Petit Prince
  39. Salinger, J.D. – Franny and Zooey
  40. Shakespeare, William – Hamlet
  41. Stoppard, Tom – Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead
  42. Tolkien, J.R.R. – The Hobbit
  43. Tolstoy, Leo – Anna Karenina
  44. Twain, Mark – A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court
  45. Tzu, Sun – The Art of War
  46. Warner, Gertrude Chandler – The Boxcar Children (Books 1-4)
  47. Wharton, Edith – Ethan Frome
  48. Wilde, Oscar – The Picture of Dorian Gray
  49. Wilder, Laura Ingalls – Little House in the Big Woods
  50. Williams, Tennessee – The Glass Menagerie
4 thoughts on “Classics Club

  1. Suzan says:

    That’s an interesting list you’ve got there! I’ve also just started the Classics Club challenge, and I see a few titles in your list that I’ve also added. I’m excited to follow your progress and read your reviews! Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

