Dash & Lily

dash-and-lily

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn, David Levithan

Contemporary – YA

Published October 26th 2010 by Knopf Books for Young Readers

 

 

 

It’s Christmas Week! I have so much to do but at least all of my shopping is done and I’m not forced to go out Christmas Eve morning like past years. This is the first Christmas book I was able to read this season and I’m hoping it’s not the last.

 

Summary

This book is dual narrated by Lily and Dash (major shock). Lily’s brother makes her leave a notebook in a bookstore that sends the finder (Dash) on a scavenger hunt. As the game intensifies and Dash starts writing back they have to decide if they are destined to merely be perfect in one another heads or if their in-person selves connect as well as their notebook selves.

 

Thoughts

Before I start, I just want to put it out there that this is how people get murdered! Hey random girl/guy, thanks for the notebook, now I will use it to lure you to your death. This book may have been good, I wouldn’t know, I spent the majority of the time yelling at the different places either one would have definitely been murdered.

Okay, so this book was cute besides all of that but also extremely annoying, besides the obvious murder. I think we were supposed to like Dash? I’m assuming I just didn’t catch on to that. He’s described as snarky and a wannabe hipster who is just so jaded by the harshness of the world and blah blah blah. YOU’RE SIXTEEN in YA CONTEMPORARY. I think I just hated him because this isn’t the type of YA character I like. Bitter and jaded is not a good look on anyone but especially not in a YA contemporary christmas book where he isn’t meant to be the Scrooge character. Make someone else Scrooge and make our love interest jaded, or bitter, or snarky…but not everything at once thrown into one extremely pretentious personality. He only eats yogurt and reads classics. HOW IS EATING YOGURT A CHARACTERISTIC!

At this point it probably seems like I hated the book but that’s not the case. I kept reading for Lily, who was adorable and felt real in some ways. She was naive and babied and immature for 16 but not in a weird way. Just in that way where high schoolers mature at different rates and it still felt like hers was real. I could have read about just Lily going on adventures and realizing she was way too good for this boy.

 

Quotes

“You think fairy tales are only for girls? Here’s a hint – ask yourself who wrote them. I assure you, it wasn’t just the women. It’s the great male fantasy – all it takes is one dance to know that she’s the one. All it takes is the sound of her song from the tower, or a look at her sleeping face. And right away you know – this is the girl in your head, sleeping or dancing or singing in front of you. Yes, girls want their princes, but boys want their princesses just as much. And they don’t want a very long courtships. They want to know immediately.”

 

Final Thoughts

This was a giant meh for me. It was a solid 2 but brought up to a 3 because Christmas and the festiveness was cute and Lily was fantastic. It in no way is a book that is life-changing by any means, but it was a fun escape for a few hours as a way to get into the christmas spirit.

 

2 thoughts on “Dash & Lily

Leave a Reply

