End of Year Survey – 2016

This is my second year taking part in the End of Year Survey hosted by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page Turner. I always think this is a fun way to look back on the books I read throughout the year and remind myself of books I loved and promptly forgot about *cough* Challenger Deep. So here are my answers and I would love to hear what some of you favorite books of 2016 were or any huge disappoints. As always I love recommendations 🙂

2016 Reading Stats

  • Number Of Books You Read: 76
  • Number of Re-Reads: 5
  • Genre You Read The Most From: I’m going to cheat and just say Contemporary…If we’re being honest it’s probably a close race between YA and Adult thrillers but I don’t feel like counting so the vague Contemporary bubble wins.

 

Best in Books

  1. Best Book You Read In 2016? Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
  2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin
  3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe
  4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)? Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher
  5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016? To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016? Taylor Jenkins Reid
  7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? The Abundance: Narrative Essays Old and New by Annie Dillard
  8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
  9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher
  10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016? My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix
  11. Most memorable character of 2016? Today Will Be Different by Maria Semple
  12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016? The Abundance: Narrative Essays Old and New by Annie Dillard
  13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016? After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? Room by Emma Donoghue
  15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016? “If you’re going to live, you might as well do painful, brave, and beautiful things.” ― Jeff Zentner, The Serpent King
  16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016? Shortest: 40 pages – Just One Night by Gayle Forman /  Longest: 519 pages – The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
  17. Book That Shocked You The Most? The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware
  18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)? Dill & Lydia! from The Serpent King
  19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year? Rachel Flood and Jake from The Flood Girls
  20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously? Leave Me by Gayle Forman
  21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure: In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick
  22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016? Dill from The Serpent King!
  23. Best 2016 debut you read? The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
  24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? Dear Fang, With Love by Rufi Thorpe
  25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?  Up to This Pointe by Jennifer Longo
  26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016? The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
  27. Hidden Gem Of The Year? The Flood Girls by Richard Fifield
  28. Book That Crushed Your Soul? The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
  29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016? Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
  30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? The After Party by Anton DiSclafani

 

Blogging Bookish Life

  1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016? This is the year I finally branched out and actively sought new blogs to enjoy and follow and interact with so I’m just going to say all of those?
  2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016? After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? Favorite Books with under 2000 reviews
  4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)? The only meme I actually participate in is Top Ten Tuesday so let’s say that because it’s a great way to find new blogs
  5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016? Having been doing this for only a little more than year and reaching 50 followers that I know are actually reading / interacting
  6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year? The ruts for both
  7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)? Top Ten Book Recommendations
  8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? Why Agatha Christie is such a badass female (and other fun facts)
  9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? LitCube subscription box (I got their Gilmore Girls box a while ago but all their bookish ones look just as fun!)
  10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? Completed my goodreads challenge and made a small dent in my Classics Club challenge (5/50)

 

Looking Ahead

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017? The Hopefuls by Jennifer Close
  2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)? Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
  3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? When Dimple Met Rishi  by Sandhya Menon
  4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017? Always and Forever, Lara Jean (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #3) by Jenny Han
  5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017? I will update the review links section to actually make it up-to-date
  6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone: None actually so if anyone has read any recommend them to me!

8 thoughts on “End of Year Survey – 2016

  1. sarahsbookshelvesblog says:

    I was pleasantly surprised by Dear Fang as well! And I have Dear Committee Members on my TBR. Need to get to that one. And The Hopefuls is a great fun pick! Looks like you had a good year!

    Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh good to know, I didn’t actually like the last Jennifer Close book I read so I’m hoping The Hopefuls is actually as good as goodreads lead me to believe. Dear Committee Members is one that I think I loved so much because I wasn’t expecting it to be as funny as it was.

      Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh same I still haven’t read Forever Interrupted! The Woman in Cabin 10 definitely caught me off-guard with how much I got into the mystery. Have fun with it!

      Like

    • Bri says:

      I usually am so this was a first for me! I think it helped that all of the books I was rereading I originally read in high school or earlier so it didn’t feel like as much of re-read!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lindseyhabets says:

    Looks like you had a great reading year! I hope to read The Serpent King this year, I’ve heard so many good things! And I’m so looking forward to Always and Forever, Lara Jean and When Dimple Met Rishi as well!

    Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh you’ll love the Serpent King, it’s the one book that made me cry but also incredibly hopeful in it’s adorableness. So excited for Always and Forever!

      Like

Leave a comment