Ten Authors I’m Thankful For

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Week’s Topic is a Thanksgiving Freebie! So I’m doing authors I’m thankful for.

Yay! It’s almost thanksgiving and if we’re being honest it’s the best holiday. I thought it would be fun to mention the ten authors I’m most thankful for. These aren’t necessarily my favorite or even auto-buy authors but they are the ones that either ignited a love of reading or something they said got to me at exactly the right time and from then I could just never shake them.

Stephen King

“Books are the perfect entertainment: no commercials, no batteries, hours of enjoyment for each dollar spent. What I wonder is why everybody doesn’t carry a book around for those inevitable dead spots in life.”

“We make up horrors to help us cope with the real ones.”

 

J.K. Rowling

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default.”

 

Sophie Kinsella

“If I’ve learned one lesson from all that’s happened to me, it’s that there is no such thing as the biggest mistake of your existence. There’s no such thing as ruining your life. Life’s a pretty resilient thing, it turns out.”

 

Annie Dillard

“Gentleman of the city, what surprises you? That there is suffering here, or that I know it?”

 

Margaret Atwood

“Men are afraid that women will laugh at them. Women are afraid that men will kill them.”

 

Sarah Dessen

“Life is an awful, ugly place to not have a best friend.

 

Chuck Klosterman

“Contrary to what you may have heard from Henry Rollins or/and Ian MacKaye and/or anyone else who joined a band after working in an ice cream shop, you can’t really learn much about a person based on what kind of music they happen to like. As a personality test, it doesn’t work even half the time. However, there is at least one thing you can learn: The most wretched people in the word are those who tell you they like every kind of music ‘except country.’ People who say that are boorish and pretentious at the same time.”

 

Chuck Palahniuk

“Nothing of me is original. I am the combined effort of everyone I’ve ever known.”

 

Billie Letts

“Tell them that our lives can change with every breath we take. Lord, we both know that. Tell them to let go of what’s gone because men like roger Briscoe never win. And tell them to hold on like hell to what they’ve got- each other, and a mother who would die for them, and almost did.”

 

Ernest Hemingway

“Maybe…you’ll fall in love with me all over again.”

“Hell,” I said, “I love you enough now. What do you want to do? Ruin me?”

“Yes. I want to ruin you.”

“Good,” I said. “That’s what I want too.”

What books/authors are you most thankful for? Is thanksgiving also you’re favorite holiday? Really, the pie combined with the fact I can sleep all day around my family and no one bats an eye is golden.

13 thoughts on “Ten Authors I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

