One True Loves

one true loves

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Adult – Contemporary

Published June 7th 2016 by Washington Square Press

 

 

 

Taylor Jenkins Reid has quickly become one of new favorite authors. I think over this summer I have devoured all of her books and am already impatiently waiting for the next one. THEY.ARE.JUST.SO.CUTE. 

 

Summary

Emma Blair has life figured out. She is married to her high school sweetheart Jesse, traveling the world for her job, and far away from all of the expectations her family had for her. Living their lives searching for the next adventure has been good to the young couple. Until their first wedding anniversary when Jesse’s helicopter goes missing over the Pacific Ocean. All alone, Emma makes her way back to their hometown in Connecticut to try and piece her life back together. Years later, and in her 30s, things are just starting to be okay again. She has a job, she’s settled, and she’s beginning to think life could be manageable. When she runs into an old crush and friend she thinks that maybe there could even be love again for her. Emma gets her second chance at happiness with Sam. When Jesse is found alive she must comes to terms that she has a fiance and a husband and she is nowhere near as okay as she thought she was.

 

Thoughts

I loved everything about this book. I’m not usually a fan of love triangles (as in ever) but this was different. Each of the men was in love with a different Emma and the story was more about Emma coming to terms with who she wanted to be and love decision was just a product of that. She fell for both of these men at different times in her life and neither one really threatened the other because they didn’t love the same Emma.

I loved both Sam and Jesse and that was a first for me. I usually hate one of the choices because it makes it easier to root for the other. Here, it was obvious who was better for Emma and it lined up with the person she wanted to be. But, I didn’t dislike either of the them. They obviously had their emotional struggles but never were they immature and when they were they realized it and it felt real. I was obviously yelling at Emma to pick who I liked better but she could have picked either and I would have understood. Overall, I don’t have much to say about this book because any other comments I have is just going to be me gushing about the intricacies in this book and how Emma’s past and present selves are weaved together perfectly enough to feel like a real person.

Quotes

“I had predicted my life on the idea that I wanted to see everywhere extraordinary, but I’d come to realize that extraordinary is everywhere.”

“Good things don’t wait until you’re ready. Sometimes they come right before, when you’re almost there. And I figured when that happens, you can let them pass by like a bus not meant for you. Or you can get ready. So I got ready.”

 

 

Reread?

A hard yes, I also borrowed this book from my library so I’m currently looking for a cheaper copy to stick on my shelf so I can reread the cuteness forever.

2 thoughts on “One True Loves

Leave a Reply

