Ten Books Set Outside of the U.S.

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is Ten Books Set Outside of the United States.

Looking through my Goodreads I came to a pretty sad realization, almost every book I read that is set outside of the U.S is just set in England, maybe France, and 50% of the time it will also be about WW2. So what I’m trying to say is that if anyone has any non-english speaking countries setting books that aren’t as popular with the WASP crowd, hit me up with some recommendations because I am greatly lacking in that department. Below are some good books set in England and some set during WWII…that’s really it, let me re-emphasize my need for recommendations! Also, since I’m basically introducing this with one long tangent, please don’t judge me by these books. Almost every single one is guilty pleasure that is fantastic and a favorite but not exactly a read you recommend to people. Long story short these are my fluff books.

 

London / England

After You – Jojo Moyes / Me Before You – Jojo Moyes / A Long Way Down – Nick Hornby / Confessions of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella / Bridget Jones’ Diary – Helen Fielding / Harry Potter – because that counts right?

 

Paris / France

Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins / Villa America – Liza Klaussmann / The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah / The Girl You Left Behind – Jojo Moyes (I actually only liked the France part so that’s what I’m including)

 

12 thoughts on “Ten Books Set Outside of the U.S.

  1. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    My non-U.S. reading up until 2 years ago looked the same as yours, which I figured out while reviewing my spreadsheet for this post! I now have a bit more diversity, but still not a ton of non English-speaking countries. I’ve got the Caribbean (mostly English speaking), Canada, Ireland…Asia and Eastern Europe are really my only spots with non-English speaking countries.

    Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh Asia and Eastern Europe are definitely areas I would love to read more about. I think a lot of my problem is all of my historical fiction largely settle around things I already understand and I don’t venture out of that box as much as I’d like to.

      Like

  2. Ed Hoornaert says:

    No need to apologize about the settings of the books you’re most likely to read; with the US and UK ranking #1 and #2 in English speakers, it’s natural to have read a lot of them. Even for books with other settings in my TTT, the authors are often US or English. Or Canadian. I read a lot of Can-Lit.

    Like

Leave a comment