Maybe In Another Life

51IY65uzYML._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_

Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Fiction – Contemporary

Published July 7th 2015 by Washington Square Press

 

 

 

It’s finally Thursday *I’m doing a happy dance if you can’t tell* the week from hell at work is almost over, my dad gets home from his bike trip Friday night, and Saturday I get to celebrate the marriage of my best friend and I could not be more excited. So in actual book news, I finally got around to reading Taylor Jenkins Reid and I completely agree with everyone who said this would be the perfect summer book.

 

Summary

At 29, Hannah Martin is a lost duckling, just wandering from place to place hoping something clicks for her future. When she returns to her hometown of LA she crashes on her best friend Gabby’s  couch and reconnects with Ethan, her high school boyfriend. When they’re all at a bar one night Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go and Ethan offers her a ride if she wants to stay later. In concurrent storylines Hannah lives out the effects of each decision.

 

Thoughts

Omigosh I know I’m a little late to the bandwagon for this one, but I absolutely loved this book. It was light and fluffy without being cheesy and cliche. I went into it extremely hesitant, the concurrent storyline thing just didn’t seem like a good idea to me and I was convinced I knew how everything would end for Hannah, in a nice little bow. The chapter style worked for me. It didn’t take long for me to get invested in each life and I only found myself confused maybe twice at which life I was reading at that moment. I blame that on the fact I was reading it really fast because I was so invested and got a little ahead of myself and not noticing I had started the next chapter.

 

I loved the ending(s) and while I definitely felt like one life was better than the next, a ton of people probably disagree with me on which and I think that’s the point. While Hannah’s surroundings changed slightly the person she was meant to be still was there, she just took some different paths to get there. Both lives had their good and bad that made her evaluate her life and some things had a way of working their way in both lives because they were truly meant to be. I don’t want to give too much away about the ending for people who haven’t read it but I liked the play on the idea that we don’t necessarily have soul-mates without being cynical. I read it more as our life experiences bring people into our lives when we need them and are ready for them and you have more than one opportunity.

 

Quotes

“Life is long and full of an infinite number of decisions. I have to think that the small ones don’t matter, that I’ll end up where I need to end up no matter what I do.”

“When you sit there and wish things had happened differently, you can’t just wish away the bad stuff. You have to think about all the good stuff you might lose, too. Better just to stay in the now and focus on what you can do better in the future.”

“You don’t need to find the perfect thing all the time. Just find one that works, and go with it.”

 

Re-Read

Definitely want a copy for my bookshelf and I can’t wait to read more by this author!
Did anyone else love the endings, or were hoping there would be just one? What book by this author would you recommend I read next because I’m thinking her newest one?

3 thoughts on “Maybe In Another Life

  1. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    I LOVED this book so much. It got me hooked on the parallel universe type books. I loved the endings but definitely had a favorite!! I read her newest and really enjoyed it as well. Everyone seems to rave about After I Do as well which I plan on reading next month. Great review!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

