YA Catch-Up Time

Okay, so I’ve been reading a ton many great books lately that I want to share but just don’t have time for and am falling massively behind. Also, who wants to read a full review for a popular YA book that came out over 5 years ago. So to combat this, here are some mini reviews for the backlog of books I am slowly making my way through.

51VfOv6AC0L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Audrey Wait by Robin Benway

Published April 10th 2008 by Razorbill

Summary

Audrey Cuttler’s life hasn’t been the same since her ex-boyfriend’s new song about their breakup is rising in the charts and she suddenly finds herself in the spotlight.

Thoughts

This book was so adorable. I loved that Audrey had a friendship where they were genuinely friends and it felt real. They fought and made up after apologies on both ends and each person had to forgive. I also loved that she was capable of being in a relationship and still make decisions for herself even if other people didn’t like them. Also her parent, I love when parents in YA resemble actual people, not just people from a snarky teens point-of-view so that was a huge plus for me.

Overall, I wish this was the first Robin Benway book I read instead of Emmy & Oliver because I think I would have been less critical from the beginning. An adorable and quick read and perfect for my summer list.

 

61U24vS7erL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_The Sky Is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

Published March 9th 2010 by Dial Books

Summary

Lennie Walker is a regular seventeen-year-old. A shy bookworm who is afraid of the spotlight and content to live in the shadow of her older sister, Bailey. When Bailey dies suddenly, Lennie is thrust into the open and must grapple with what living her life means as she finds herself struggling between two boys and a chance to succeed in band class.

Thoughts

I’m extremely proud of myself for only tearing up a  little during this. I loved how Lennie grew as a person and she felt real. She was afraid of living when her sister was alive and even more so with her sister’s death. She feels guilty and like she’s betraying Bailey every time  she thinks of something else and is afraid she’s being selfish and that read as a genuine emotion/reaction. Lennie’s arc and romance number two was adorable. Overall, a great read that I finished in a day.

Please don’t stone me but this is my first Jandy Nelson book.  I keep wanting to read I’ll Give You The Sun, but every time I read the summary it just doesn’t strike me as something I’ll enjoy. Did anyone else have this problem and ended up loving it? I think I need a push besides Linda Holmes at NPR telling me it’s great.

 

51ff7ZgwfoL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_Where the Stars Still Shine – Trish Doller

Published September 24th 2013 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Summary

Callie has only known the nomad life she leads with her mom. Getting meals from vending machines and never having gone to school, Callie doesn’t have much hope for the future. When the truth that her mom kidnapped her as a child is  brought to light, she is whisked away to a small Florida town to be with her dad. She quickly finds herself at the center of a large and loving Greek family as she finally has her chance to start over and finally put her past behind her.

Thoughts

I wanted to love this book. The story was on-point and promised family drama and swoony forbidden love all wrapped up in a coming-of-age story. I loved everything this story could have been but just didn’t love the execution. I don’t know what it was about it, if my expectations were too high, or what, but this just wasn’t my favorite. It was very slow moving then when the action happened and I was invested it was just over. I liked the build-up but I would have really liked if the ending matched the anticipation level or if it was shorter to get there. If that makes any sense.

 

If anyone has any recommendations for fun books that aren’t exactly being hyped anymore, hit me up. I love avoiding my TBR list by adding more books to it.

2 thoughts on “YA Catch-Up Time

Leave a Reply

