Ten Reasons to Love Female Protagonists

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Week’s Topic is Reasons to Love X

So I spent more time than I care to admit trying to figure out just ten reasons why I love female protagonists that wasn’t just one long ramble-fest. This led me to thinking I could just include my ten favorite protagonists but that wan’t really reasons, then I had my a-ha moment. So I’m just going to include 10 quotes from some of my favorite ladies in literature that I think really encompass what is so great about complex female characters. Quotes from characters that are constantly teaching young women it’s okay to be themselves, even if that means that they may be boy crazy, or over-critical, or hyper aware of what other’s think of them. 

She gets two quotes for being so awesome and unapologetically herself.

But at the moment there was a loud squeal of “Won-Won!” and Lavender Brown came hurtling out of nowhere and flung herself into Ron’s arms.

Two bodies fell from the balcony overhead as they reached the ground a grey blur that Harry took for an animal sped four-legged across the hall to sink its teeth into one of the fallen. “NO!” shrieked Hermione, and with a deafening blast from her wand, Fenrir Greyback was thrown backward from the feebly stirring body of Lavender Brown.

 

“You are the gull, Jo, strong and wild, fond of the storm and the wind, flying far out to sea, and happy all alone.”

 

“Because,’ she said, ‘when you’re scared but you still do it anyway, that’s brave.”

 

“Ned said “Nancy Drew is the best girl detective in the whole world!”

“Don’t you believe him,” Nancy said quickly. “I have solved some mysteries, I’ll admit, and I enjoy it, but I’m sure there are many other girls who could do the same.”

 

“It’s awfully hard helping your parents grow up. But it has to be done.”

 

“She thought to herself, “This is now.” She was glad that the cozy house, and Pa and Ma and the firelight and the music, were now. They could not be forgotten, she thought, because now is now. It can never be a long time ago.”

 

“I am not your justification for existence.”

 

“Here’s something about Mom: she’s bad with annoyances, but great in a crisis. If a waiter doesn’t refill her water after she’s asked three times, or she forgets her dark glasses when the sun comes out, look out! But when it comes to something truly bad happening, Mom plugs into this supreme calm.”

 

“Ships at a distance have every man’s wish on board. For some they come in with the tide. For others they sail forever on the same horizon, never out of sight, never landing until the Watcher turns his eyes away in resignation, his dreams mocked to death by Time. That is the life of men. Now, women forget all those things they don’t want to remember, and remember everything they don’t want to forget. The dream is the truth. Then they act and do things accordingly.”

 

  • Buffy, Christina, Veronica, Brooke

Now I know this is kind of a cop-out for my number 10 but I couldn’t pass up an opportunity for gifs of my favorite female characters

 

 

13 thoughts on “Ten Reasons to Love Female Protagonists

    • Bri says:

      Thank you! As a kid everything I read was girl power centric lol but for some reason junior and high school was a lot of male perspective too. I don’t know if it’s because I wasn’t reading as much or because I was reading more fantasy action/adventure that’s predominately male. Who knows lol.

      Like

  1. bookloversalliance says:

    Great list! I loved Lavender’s character in HP. Like you said she was never afraid to just be herself and I can always appreciate a character like that. Also, I haven’t watched Buffy in ages and now I really want to. Thank goodness for Netflix hahaha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

