Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This Week’s Topic is Books I Feel Differently About Now That Time Has Passed

5 Books I Love More Now

  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple – This book just becomes funnier each time I read it and I am convinced it makes the perfect “beach read.” You will never convince me otherwise.
  • Joyland by Stephen King – The more I go back to this one, I remember that this book is everything I love about Stephen King. It is very much in the same spirit as The Body. Not too gory or scary but still heartbreaking and very real even when it goes fantasy. 

tumblr_ml2n5aqzLO1qbhbseo2_500

  • Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight – This is one that I really liked but kind of forgot about after I read it. When I read McCreight’s next novel I found myself loving this one so much more for how much it genuinely surprised me and how McCreight is quickly becoming one of my must-read authors
  • Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts – This book and movie just gets better every time I read it and ALL-OF-THE-FEELS 
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – When i was younger The Prisoner of Azkaban was my shit. I re-read that book so much in-between the next release. I never really re-read the 1st book at all until I was older and realized what makes it’s so great.

5 Books I Definitely Love Less Now

  1. The Book of Joe by Jonathan Tropper – At the time I loved this for the sarcasm and hating of your hometown. If only it wasn’t so whiny.
  1. Still Alice by Lisa Genova – The first time I read this it was great. When I read Left Neglected I felt like I had read it before. When I picked up Inside the O’Briens’ I was exhausted with what I had already read before. So this is more a case of being exhausted with an author and not the books, because these are all great stand-alone books, just not anything to differentiate them from one another.
  1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – Unpopular opinion time but I really loved the stand-alone quotes in this novel but not the actual story. There was just so much plot going on I felt like each thing could have been examined more and done really well in their own book. When I first read this I loved it, but the more I read other YA books I find myself being drawn to them more.
  1. Something Blue by Emily Giffin – Every book I’ve read after this has gotten a little worse for me up to the recent One&Only which I couldn’t even get through. I’m starting to question if I even liked this book to begin with or if my memory is hyping it up.
  1. Any Nicholas Sparks – A Walk to Remember was my jam in junior high. I loved this book and thought it was the most romantic and saddest thing ever because I reread this constantly and cried everytime. The more I’ve read other contemporary romance the longer it’s been since I’ve read a Nicholas Sparks book. Maybe one day I’ll return when I need an easy beach-read I can get through in a day but probably not likely. 

So what books do you find your loving (or hatred) growing over time for?

8 thoughts on “Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed

  1. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    Totally agree about Sparks! And I loved Bernadette and Reconstructing Amelia. Did you know Semple as another one coming out this fall? I think it’s called Today Will Be Different?

    Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh I didn’t I will definitely have to add that to my tbr! Although I wasn’t a huge fan of her other book I think it was This One Is Mine.

      Like

  2. lindseyhabets says:

    Oh I absolutely loved A Walk To Remember! I must have re-read it like 10 times and I may have watched the movie even more. Like you, I don’t love it as much anymore, but I’ll always remember it fondly 🙂

    Like

    • Bri says:

      Oh definitely and I read somewhere that it was one of the movies netflix was adding next month so that will be getting watched soon lol

      Like

  3. Fiona says:

    I feel the same way about Perks of Being A Wallflower. I was on the younger side when I read but it still didn’t really speak to me. I like quotes from it though. Where’d You Go Bernadette has been on my list forever. Maybe I’ll check it out this summer!

    Like

  4. Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog says:

    Where’d You Go Bernadette and Reconstructing Amelia are two I really enjoyed and still like as much as wen I read. I haven’t read anything else by Lisa Genova so I still love Still Alice. I can get being exhausted by an author though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

