Furiously Happy

51Z3ZotTWfL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Nonfiction – Contemporary

Published September 22nd 2015 by Flatiron Books

 

 

 

 

So I’ve been incredibly awful about posting regularly lately so starting today I’m starting a blog schedule for myself and sticking to it (for the most part). I know there will be weeks nothing will get done but I’m hoping this gives me some accountability to actually become better at posting regularly. As in “I no longer will write the post then forget to actually post it for 3 days”. Does anyone else have trouble sticking to their blog schedule? Tell me your secrets!!

Okay, so book time. I finally got around to reading Furiously Happy after putting it off forever, and I’m so glad I finally did. As you can probably tell I’ve been on a short story kick lately, so much easier to read before bed. While this isn’t short story exactly, the chapters are all over the place (in a good way), so I can just read one or two and feel okay actually putting it down at night.

 

So What’s it About

In her second book, Jenny explores mental illness and what it means to be furiously happy. Outward happiness has become her armor and all of the stories she tells (I love the ones about her dad and his taxidermied animals) are about embracing the joys of life even when it gets really really hard and you just need to hide for a few days to rejuvenate, because that’s okay too!

 

Thoughts

I loved the randomness of this book. Not to panic anyone, the chapters are each their  own singular story or moment in her life but next to each other the chapters are random. You could read them in any order and they would make sense for the most part. They all center around her experience with mental illness and disorders. It’s her personal account and while I found parts very relatable I loved when she brought up how people could be diagnosed with the same exact thing and it could affect them completely differently. Some chapters were a little too wacky or random for me or they just dragged, but in a book that’s over 300 pages not everyone is going to like every single chapter the same way. The nice thing about this book is it was easy to skim what was “eh” for me and read what I loved.

 

Things I Loved:

  • Her arguments with her husband (so funny and relatable)
  • The taxidermied pictures
  • Her descriptions of her mental illness was insightful (i hate that word but I can’t think of a better one)

 

Quotes

“Don’t sabotage yourself. There are plenty of other people willing to do that for free.”

“Don’t make the same mistakes that everyone else makes. Make wonderful mistakes. Make the kind of mistakes that make people so shocked that they have no other choice but to be a little impressed.”

 

Reread?

Probably not because it’s a library book and I don’t think it’s one I would buy for myself to reread. However, that wouldn’t stop me for buying it for all of my friends.

2 thoughts on “Furiously Happy

Leave a Reply

