Classics Club: Fahrenheit 451

Yay my first book towards my Classic Club Challenge. For those who aren’t familiar, The Classics Club is a challenge to pick classics (at least 50) and read them all over the next 5 years. For those who read my initial list you know it’s more of a “books I always wanted to read or re-read.” Most of my list is re-reads of books I either loved as a kid or want to re-visit, books I was supposed to read, and books that I love the author and want to experience more of their work. The plan is to have my list of 50 all read by December 28, 2020.

51fteAnWfZL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury

 

 

 

 

For those unfamiliar, Fahrenheit 451 is the story of Guy Montag, a fireman whose job is to burn books, all of which are forbidden. Then Montag meets a young girl and he begins to think, which is the biggest crime in this dystopian future. He begins to question the very books he burns.

I was actually supposed to read this book in high school and as a complete shock to no one, I never did. So this is my chance to go back to high school and I’m so glad I did. As such a lover of books and advocate against censorship I’m so happy I finally read this. The book got a little preachy in spots for me, especially in its hatred against tv. Seriously, you will have to rip Bravo reality shows out of my cold dead hands. Taking Bradbury’s words with a grain of salt, I think this is a fantastic read about how with the right set of circumstances we could be in for a world trouble. Lucky for us today all technology is not bad just as it is not all good.

All-in-all I’m incredibly happy I finally read this.

“We need not to be let alone. We need to be really bothered once in awhile. How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?”

“Stuff your eyes with wonder. Live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. see the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories. Ask no guarantees, ask for no security, there never was such an animal. And if there were, it would be related to the great sloth which hangs upside down in a tree all day every day, sleeping its life away. To hell with that . Shake the tree and knock the great sloth down on his ass.”

“You’re afraid of making mistakes. Don’t be. Mistakes can be profited by. Man, when I was young I shoved my ignorance in people’s faces. They beat me with sticks. By the time I was forty my blunt instrument had been honed to a fine cutting point for me. If you hide your ignorance, no one will hit you and you’ll never learn.”

One thought on “Classics Club: Fahrenheit 451

  1. Suzan says:

    I think Fahrenheit 451 is certainly a great way to start the classics club! Both because it’s a relatively easy read, but also because it discusses the importance of literature, highlighting some big works. I never had to read this for highschool but I can see how this is mandatory in English speaking countries. Your comment saying you thought it sometimes was too preachy is one I can definitely agree with – although I really liked the novel, I felt it highlighted the morals it wanted to convey a little too much from time to time. Anyway, good luck on your classics challenge! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

