Mosquitoland

51p3zIT3flL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Mosquitoland – David Arnold

Fiction – YA

Published  March 3, 2015 by Viking Children’s

 

 

 

 

Good news, I finally read this after it sat on my TBR pile for months. Bad news, I’m not really sure what I think about this book. I went into it with such high expectations and in some ways I don’t think it ever had a chance to fully live up to them. Not my favorite book of the year by a long shot but I am glad I finally read it so there’s that.

Summary

The story begins with a fifteen year old Mim, trying to deal with her dad and new stepmom hauling her off to Mississippi. Not only does she have to deal with moving away from Ohio and her mom, she also has to deal with her dad medicating her and never fully explaining to her why. When she stops hearing from her mom, Mim decides to go on a mission back to Ohio to make sure her mom is okay. On the way she meets all sorts of people, some truly awful and some future life long friends.

Thoughts

I’m a sucker for a good road trip story and this definitely delivered on that front. This book was cute and seemed to hit all the right notes but I still couldn’t connect. When I finished there was no lingering thoughts about the characters or the plot or really anything. The book was well-written but that emotional connection about what happens when Mim finds her mom again just wasn’t there for me. She never felt like a real person to me, just an outlet for the author to get his quirky and witty voice across so everyone would know he was quirky and witty.

As annoying as I found Mim, I thought everything about her friendship with Beck was adorable. Just gah so much cuteness without all the weirdness of the age difference, they were friends first, period. I wish there was more of them throughout the story, not to make it better but just because they were just so cute.

Overall, this book had great moments but it was just that for me, moments. It was just an okay story filled with great moments and I expected more.

Quotes

“Every great character, Iz, be it on page or screen, is multidimensional. The good guys aren’t all good, the bad guys aren’t all bad, and any character wholly one or the other shouldn’t exist at all. Remember this when I describe the antics that follow, for though I am not a villain, I am not immune to villainy.”

“As simple as it sounds, I think understanding who you are–and who you are not–is not the most important thing of all Important Things.

Re-Read?

I will probably not  re-read this but I’m curious what you guys thought of it because it obviously had all of the hype for a reason. Sometimes I’m pretty sure I judge books to harshly when I’m anticipating them so much and the feedback is good.

Leave a Reply

