Life Lately: I Made a Thing

So this was my lazy weekend filled with binge watching all of Dollhouse on Netflix and crafting. No complaints on my end except that Monday has come and I am now in my office…yay. So to celebrate my awesome weekend I’m going to share my bath bomb recipe that actually turned out when I didn’t think it would. This recipe is a lovely combination of several pinterest blogs meshed together along with my mom informing me that citric acid is actually necessary.

IMG_1677

Yay! a picture of my bath bombs on top of my pride and joy…the margaritaville serving platter. While they aren’t as bubble filled as I would have liked they still did the job scent wise. I’m thinking next time some melted down shea or mango butter will definitely be added to the batch…and glitter because I love glitter more than a normal human should. The general recipe I used is below…although there are definite ways you can customize and if anyone has any suggestions for bubbles please let me know!

DIY Lush Bath Bomb

1 cup baking soda

½ cup citric acide

½ cup cornstarch

2 teaspoons grapeseed oil*

¾ teaspoon water

15-20 drops essential oil (I used Lavender)

*I used grape seed but any oil such as coconut or almond would work great. I didn’t add any to mine at first and the mixture was too dry so I found the oil helped it to form better.

Combine baking soda, citric acid, and cornstarch. In a separate bowl combine the grape seed oil, water, and essential oil. SLOWLY pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture. I say slowly because you don’t want the water to react and start fizzing. (Full disclosure: mine still fizzed a bit and they turned out fine). Mix the wet and dry mixture with a whisk until fully combined. You’ll know it’s good to go when you can clump the mixture and it stays clumped. Press the mixture into your mold. I used a mini cupcake tin but a silicone mold or ornament ball molder thing would work just as well. Dry for 24 hours before removing from mold and enjoy!

So how was everyone else’s weekend? And, I was serious about hearing other suggestions on how to make the bombs bubble!

2 thoughts on “Life Lately: I Made a Thing

Leave a Reply

