End of Year Survey

So this is the 6th annual survey started by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page Turner. Although, this is my first year taking part ☺ I thought it would be a fun way to look back at all the books I read and see if the same things that stood out when I read them still hold true for me. I just started seriously keeping track of what I read and blogging this year so it should be fun to see how this affects my reading next year.

1

Number Of Books You Read: 47
Number of Re-Reads: I didn’t really keep track, but I re-read all 7 Harry Potter books this summer so that was a fun thing that happened
Genre You Read The Most From:
A lot more YA than I usually do, but still mostly Adult Contemporary Fiction

2

Best Book You Read In 2015? Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? The Wild Truth: The Untold Story of Sibling Survival – Carine McCandless

Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  Down the Rabbit Hole: Curious Adventures and Cautionary Tales of a Former Playboy Bunny – Holly Madison

Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)? Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness – Susannah Cahalan

Best Sequel of 2015? After You – Jojo Moyes

Favorite new author you discovered in 2015? Jojo Moyes

Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? Foxcatcher: The True Story of My Brother’s Murder, John du Pont’s Madness, and the Quest for Olympic Gold – Mark Schultz, David Thomas

Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? In the Unlikely Event – Judy Blume

Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?Saint Anything – Sarah Dessen

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015? Shotgun Lovesongs – Nickolas Butler

Most memorable character of 2015? Franny Banks (Someday, Someday, Maybe)

Most beautifully written book read in 2015? The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015? Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness – Susannah Cahalan

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? Where’d You Go, Bernadette – Maria Semple

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015? I couldn’t decide on one so I finally narrowed it down to three and I’m going to include them all because I’m a hashtag rebel.

“America, I think, is about poor people playing music and poor people sharing food and poor people dancing, even when everything else in their life is so desperate, and so dismal that it doesn’t seem there should be any room for any music, any extra food, or any extra energy for dancing. And people can say that I’m wrong, that we’re a puritanical people, an evangelical people, a selfish people, but I don’t believe that. I don’t want to believe that.” (Shotgun Lovesongs)

“My heart started racing, not the bad kind of heart racing, like I’m going to die. But the good kind of heart racing, like, Hello, can I help you with something? If not, please step aside because I’m about to kick the shit out of life.” (Where’d You Go, Bernadette)

“Push yourself. Don’t settle. Wear those stripy legs with pride. And if you insist on settling down with some ridiculous bloke, make sure some of this is squirreled away somewhere. Knowing you still have possibilities is a luxury. Knowing I might have given them to you has alleviated something for me.” (Me Before You)

Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015? 

Longest – Doctor Sleep – Stephen King (531)

Shortest – Coraline – Neil Gaiman (162)

Book That Shocked You The Most? Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)? Louisa Clark and Will Traynor (Me Before You)

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year? Hank, Leland, Kip and Ronny (Shotgun Lovesongs

Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously? Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Best Book You Read In 2015That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure? The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon – Stephen King

Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015? Willem (Just One Year)

Best 2015 debut you read? In a Dark Dark Wood – Ruth Ware

Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? Those Who Wish Me Dead – Michael Koryta

Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?Where’d You Go, Bernadette – Maria Semple

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015? The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

Hidden Gem Of The Year? Someday, Someday, Maybe (Lauren Graham)

Book That Crushed Your Soul? The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah and Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Most Unique Book You Read In 2015? The Heart Goes Last – Margaret Atwood

Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? The Girl on the Train – Paula Hawkins and We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

3

New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015? The Perpetual Page-Turner actually ☺

Favorite review that you wrote in 2015? Someday, Someday, Maybe (Lauren Graham) – The fact I had so much to gush about with that book took me by surprise and I love being surprised

Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? Talking on my Top Ten Tuesdays and getting recommendations from some awesome people

Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)? The Classics Club – even though I’m just starting now I’m counting it because it was a lot of fun (and time) to make my list.

Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015? When I decided to start working on my blog more regularly and with more purpose. This community has been overwhelmingly welcoming and I could not be happier.

Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?Around the time I started to take my blog schedule seriously is around the time I got my first big-girl job so that was a transition of actually doing things with my day

Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)? Top Ten Quotes I Loved from Books I Read in the Past Year or So

Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? Really all of my actual reviews, but definitely the After You review because I just want everyone to read it before the movie comes out next year and fall in love with it like I did.

Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? Litographs. Their tattoo chain  for all of Alice in Wonderland is awesome and I definitely recommend looking around their shop

Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? I almost doubled my goodreads challenge of 24 books.

4

One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016? Mosquitoland – David Arnold

Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)? Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories – Stephanie Perkins

2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? Kill the Boy Band – Goldy Moldavsky

Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016? Winds of Winter – George R. R. Martin (not a series ending but I’m still stoked)

One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016? I really want to continue to be more active on my blog

A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone: I haven’t read any yet, so someone should recommend some to me ☺

Leave a Reply

