Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is…


Books I am Thankful For (A Thanksgiving Freebie) 

51KAYSyY03L._SX346_BO1,204,203,200_1. Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans

“In an old house in Paris that was covered with vines / Lived twelve little girls in two straight lines /  In two straight lines they broke their bread / And brushed their teeth and went to bed. / They left the house at half past nine / In two straight lines in rain or shine- The smallest one was Madeline.”

The fact that I can still recite this word-for-word says everything about my childhood reading habits.

download 2

 2. All of the Little House Books by Laura Ingalls Wilder

 

download 3

3. Oh, look! Harry Potter

 

 

 

 

download 4

 

4. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

I really hated reading for school, it wasn’t until my sophomore year that we read Agatha Christie and I fell in love all over again. This book showed me old books weren’t necessarily boring or “hard” (this was the same year we read The Scarlett Letter) and a great story and characters didn’t have to be sacrificed for enjoyment.

downlaod 5

5. Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume

It was incredibly hard to pick just one Judy Blume book for this but I decided on this classic. This is mainly due to the fact this is the edition I read as a kid because it was my mom’s.

 

411pakPjvdL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

6. The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

Everyone loves baseball and fishing.

 

download 7

7. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

I brought this book home from the school library when I was 9. Why it was in the school library the world will never know, but my teacher said I could read it if my parents said it was okay all concerned and teacher-like. My parents in all their glory let me not only read it, but when I finished it (because I had no clue what I just read) let me watch the movie with them and then we discussed it. That was the type of family we are and I am forever grateful. I also should re-read this at some point.

5102ciciTeL._SX301_BO1,204,203,200_

 

8. Killing Yourself To Live: 85% of a True Story by Chuck Klosterman

My dad made me read this because he wanted someone to geek out with him. From here my love for Klosterman was born. Also, book recs from dads are the best recs.

 

 

51TiPPpOieL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

 

9. Invisible Monsters by Chuck Palahniuk

 

 

 

 

 

 

51Q7LmPVBHL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

10. Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts

This book is like running home and getting a giant hug from your mom.

 

 

 

 

So happy thanksgiving everyone and let me know what books (or anything) you’re thankful for this year.

One thought on “Top Ten Books I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

