Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is…


Quotes I Love From Books I’ve Read In The Past Year (Or So)

This is tough, I’ve read so many great books this past year and each one is filled with quotes that I love for different reasons. Some of these are super awesome and some just make me laugh. So here we go in no particular order, my first Top Ten Tuesday 🙂

“How dare she show herself to be everything he was so annoyed with her for not being?” The Heart Goes Last – Margaret Atwood

“To be successful in an area, you have to respect the people who are successful in that area, or you are disrespecting the very thing that you want to become.” Foxcatcher – Mark Schultz

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.” Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

“I always thought it was what I wanted: to be loved and admired. Now I think perhaps I’d like to be known.” The Nightingale – Kristin Hannah

“Girl scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.” Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

“If a hiker gets lost in the mountains, people will coordinate a search. If a train crashes, people will line up to give blood. If an earthquake levels a city, people all over the world will send emergency supplies. This is so fundamentally human that it’s found in every culture without exception. Yes, there are assholes who just don’t care, but they’re massively outnumbered by the people who do.” The Martian – Andy Weir

“My heart started racing, not the bad kind of heart racing, like I’m going to die. But the good kind of heart racing, like, Hello, can I help you with something? If not, please step aside because I’m about to kick the shit out of life.” Where’d You Go Bernadette – Maria Semple

“In all my travels, only in the Midwest would someone spend their money in a place they hate simply because they feel bad for the proprietors. Also I suppose, because they know your name.” Shotgun Lovesongs – Nickolas Butler

“In yourself right now is all the place you’ve got.” Wise Blood – Flannery O’Connor

“When you’re twenty-one, life is a roadmap. It’s only when you get to be twenty-five or so that you begin to suspect that you’ve been looking at the map upside down, and not until you’re forty are you entirely sure. By the time you’re sixty, take it from me, you’re fucking lost.” Joyland – Stephen King

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

Leave a Reply

